Rutsindura Memorial Tournament

Petit Seminaire Virgo Fidelis de Butare, organizers of the annual Rutsindura Memorial Tournament, have insisted the secondary school is ready to host a seamless competition.

In the men’s professional category ; holders Rwanda Energy Group (REG), APR, Kirehe, Gisagara, UTB, KVC and IPRC South of Rwanda as well as Young Club De Goma from the Democratic Republic of Congo have confirmed to participate.

The women’s category has attracted five league sides namely ; APR, Rwanda Revenue Authority (RRA), Ruhango, Saint Aloys and Kigali Volleyball Club.

In the youth category, which is dominated by secondary schools were seven-team contest for the top honours. The teams include ; Lycee de Nyanza, PSVF Butare, GSOB, College du Christ Roi, Marie Merci de Kibeho, Saint Joseph Kabgayi and IPRC- West.

The annual tournament is organized every year by Petit Seminaire Virgo Fidelis with pertnership SORAS, the first Rwandan private insurance Company in memory of former teacher and volleyball promoter, Alphonse Rutsindura, who was killed during the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi.

Also a former lecturer at the National University of Rwanda, Rutsindura played a pivotal role in the development of volleyball in the country. He also coached the national women volleyball team before becoming the first vice president of the local volleyball federation, FRVB.

and Rwanda Revenue Authority (RRA) are title holders after winning the tourney’s 15th edition last year, in men’s and women’s category respectively.

In both categories, winners have been REG in men category, APR VC in women category, GSOB for serie B, Petit Seminaire Karubanda for O level category, EP Tumba for primary school and Mana Jean Paul & Mbonyuwontuma Jean Luc for beach volley ball.

KN 3 av, KN 71 St, P.O Box: 942 Kigali
Email:[email protected] | Tel: +25(0)78 818 5300